You are not logged in. // Login

5. Geriatric Palliative Care: Multidimensional Suffering5. Geriatric Palliative Care: Multidimensional Suffering

Register or Login To Enroll
Register or
Login To Enroll
Credits: 1.5
Estimated Length: 1 hour(s) and 30 minute(s)


This course provides healthcare professionals evidence based knowledge and skills for addressing the multidimensional aspects of suffering, including pain and symptom management, grief and loss that is contextualized to the older adult’s needs and quality of life.

Participants must complete all of the lessons, including the Evaluation, in order to receive a CME certificate. A score of 80/100 is required to pass the posttest. Participants can repeat the posttest as many times as needed.

CME for Physicians

This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization and The George Washington University School of Nursing and School of Medicine and Health Sciences. The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization designates this enduring material for a maximum of 1.0AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Participants should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation.  

Continuing Education for Physician Assistants, Nurses, Physical Therapists, and Other Healthcare Professionals

Certificate of Participation for Non-Physician Healthcare Professionals is for participants whose disciplines are other than physician. You may request a Certificate of Participation for Non-physician Healthcare Professionals to submit to your accrediting bodies/licensing boards for continuing education credit. This certificate will indicate the enduring material was certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s) TM. It is the responsibility of participants to submit the certificates to their accrediting bodies/licensing boards for approval. NHPCO cannot guarantee its acceptance. To receive this certificate, you must complete all CE/CME requirements and indicate your desire to receive this certificate.



At the end of this course, the learner will be able to:

  1. Select strategies that effectively incorporate and manage the physical, psychosocial, and spiritual aspects of suffering for older adults and their families.
  2. Describe how grief and loss impact individuals and families on multiple levels: physically, emotionally, socially and spiritually.
  3. Examine the assessment, management and evaluation of pain and other symptoms when contextualized to a older adult’s needs and quality of life.


  1. Multidimensional Suffering: Pretest
  2. Geriatric Palliative Care: Multidimensional Suffering
  3. Multidimensional Suffering: Posttest
  4. Multidimensional Suffering: Evaluation


  1. Geriatric Palliative Care: Multidimensional Suffering
Powered by Inquisiq R4 Build 4.15.0701© 2002-2019ICS Learning Group
Desktop | Mobile